Please sign in to post.

Safety in Barcelona

My husband and I will be visiting Barcelona in late October. I just read on the Barcelona forum on TripAdvisor that someone suggested leaving wedding ring at home. Is this necessary? I will not be wearing any other jewelry and never dress flamboyantly. My husband can’t even remove his wedding band after 36 years of marriage.

I have been traveling to Europe for the last 4 years and never worried about wearing my wedding band. Please ease my worried mind.

Posted by
11179 posts

Unless your rings rival Royal jewels, I see no reason not to wear your wedding ring.

Posted by
7357 posts

Sounds scary but was this just a single suggestion from just one person on that forum? Did they suggest a robber (or roving gang?) held up a woman, forcing her to hand over her ring, or else? We didn’t experience anything of the sort on our visit 5 years ago. Unless you’re in a rough neighborhood, and/or out late at night, seems you won’t be in a situation where any jewelry, especially a wedding ring, would be at unusual risk.

Posted by
3904 posts

Of course it all depends, there is no definitive yes/no answer. But if the wedding ring has any decent sized "rocks", then you probably would not want to wear it in the popular tourist places, like down las Ramblas or in the Barrio Gotico. It could present a nice opportunity for a pickpocket. You cold always leave it in the hotel safe when you are visiting a touristy place for the day, just to keep your mind at ease. If the ring is more discrete then you should be fine, but it's no guarantee of course :)

Posted by
43 posts

I was thinking it wouldn’t be an issue, but I thought I would ask here since I read not too long ago how Barcelona has changed has changed in the past two years. My diamond is less than a carrot, but after 36 years I would be heartbroken if someone demanded it.