Please sign in to post.

Rustic shack or similar wanted to rent in Spain Jan-Mar 2019

Hi,

This is possibly a long shot, but you never know. I am hoping to spend late Jan to end Feb/Mar in Spain (or Portugal). I normally live off-grid in very rural surroundings and I need more of the same when I go away. So I am looking for something like a very rustic property, the more rural the better but accessible by vehicle (I will be driving). I am especially keen to hear from anyone who has a place near forest/mountains.

I am looking for a very low cost rental OR to negotiate doing some work in exchange for the rental. I am an environmental professional, a professional gardener and I am experienced with most farm animals and land-based tasks so anything considered.

I would be open to any suitably rural property. From the very basic, with simple toilet and washing facilities (I can supply my own cooking and sleeping gear. ) to something a bit more 'comfortable' A fireplace or woodburner would be essential.

I would be hoping to rent for between 1 and 2 months starting late January.

If you or anyone you know may be able to help please do get in touch.

Posted by
6732 posts

I am looking for a very low cost rental OR to negotiate doing some work in exchange for the rental...

Izzat legal?

Assuming you're coming as a tourist (no work visa) I assume that "working" isn't allowed. Is working for rent in lieu of money a violation of the tourist entry privileges? I don't know (my guess would be yes it is), but if that's really part of the plan, it's worth finding out in advance.

Would it be legal for someone from Honduras who was visiting the US as a tourist to work while here in exchange for a place to live?

Given the current highly volatile concerns and politics around immigration, this could easily be a very delicate subject.

Posted by
8889 posts