Please sign in to post.

Prado museum

I am interested in touring the Prado museum. We're interested in art but not to the detailed level of an art student/historian. I am wondering if booking a private tour with a guide for my group of 4 is worth the cost. Private Prado Museum Tours is approximately 160E per person for a 2 hour tour. Or, is using the guide within the Rick Steves' book along with the 3.50 E audioguide sufficient?

Posted by
293 posts

I haven't been yet to the Prado (next month, so excited!), but if your interest level is more general, I would think you'd be fine with the RS book and the audio guide. I have a degree in European history and have studied a lot of art history, and I've been largely pretty impressed with the quality of the RS self-guided museum tours. The trouble comes if you're interested in a particular era or collection that he doesn't cover. You might take a look at the Prado's website to get a sense of the collections and determine if there's something that really grabs you. That way you can do your homework ahead of time and get the most out of your visit.

Caroline
P.S. I recently came across a used copy of RS' "History 101: History and Art for the Traveler." It is, by necessity, very general, but it conveys a concepts in a very clear and accessible fashion. I'm thinking about adapting some of the charts for my World History students. You might see if your local library has a copy.

Posted by
1068 posts

Hard to answer given how much info you want (i.e., how detailed--a lot of leeway between rough idea and art historian.) I did not see a guided audio tour on the RS app but you may want to look at the tour in his Spain book. Also, check the museum website and see if they have an audio tour. I have found self-guided tours were usually sufficient for what I want.

Posted by
1178 posts