Please sign in to post.

Madrid

Hi! My name is Pauline, I'm a french student and our English teacher wants us to post some messages in English on a forum about a topic we like. I'm going to go to Madrid soon so I thought it would be a good idea to talk about this city on a forum. I'd like to know some typical places, I mean I'd like not to discover the toursistic Madrid but the real Madrid. Thanks in advance for your answers.

Posted by
1178 posts

While these places are visited by tourists, as are most places in Madrid, they are not "tourist attractions" in the purse sense of the word, and are all very interesting.
Museum Sorolla....set in a house in an exclusive area of the city, this is a great museum and art gallery of the painter, Sorolla. The house is a great example of the types of upper class houses of the time it was built. It is not as crowded as many of the other well known museums and the garden entrance is outstanding.

Museum of the History of Madrid. This is in a building dating from the 1700s that has been recently renovated and now is another first class exhibition hall. The history of the city is traced from its beginnings to the present day, starting in the basement level with a large model of the original city and progressing on each level to the current time. Fascinating architecture and the exhibits are well presented.

Calle Gran Via. Designed and constructed just over one hundred years ago as the major road going east to west, it is home to some of the outstanding belle epoch architecture to be found in the city. Walk it and see the architecture of that time which has survived war and destruction of the years.

Park Retiro....the green lungs of the city,...definitely on the tourist agenda, and definitely a place to see and encounter...be sure to see the Crystal Palace and the Valesquez museum located there as well s the lake with the row boats and all the mimes and street entertainers.