Please sign in to post.

Itinerary help - our 2023 Spanish odyssey - 60 days of wine and tapas

We (59 and 73) will be in Spain from 9 February until 9 April 2023. After many attempts we think this is our close to final itinerary. We will be travelling around Spain by public transport as we don't want to drive. We have done several trips in Europe using trains and buses and like watching the scenery out of the window.

We have been to Barcelona for a week (including a day trip to Tarragona), but otherwise are Spanish newbies. I started learning Spanish during COVID lockdowns and want to test my skills before I forget it all. We like Roman ruins, architecture, food and wine, and natural scenery. I have severe arthritis so cannot walk more than a mile or so without a break, and not more than 3-4 miles per day.

We would love some feedback on our itinerary.

1 night – Madrid – recover from 30 hours travelling from Australia and get our “land legs”

THE SOUTH & THE WEST (30 nights)

2 nights – Zaragoza

2 nights – Girona

4 nights – Barcelona – we plan to do a day trip to Montserrat and see some more Gaudi buildings

2 nights – Tarragona – rest and Roman things

4 nights – Valencia

2 nights – Murcia – we plan to do a day trip to Cartagena (more Roman things)

2 nights – Granada – Alhambra and a special birthday celebration

2 nights – Cordoba – Mezquita

6 nights – Seville – we plan to do day trips to Carmona and Cadiz/Baelo Claudia (Romans again)

1 night – Merida – Romans yet again

3 nights – Caceres – we plan to do a day trip to Trujillo/Guadalupe

THE MIDDLE & THE NORTH (29 nights)

6 nights – Madrid – mid point rest break and art, art, art, plus day trips to Segovia and Toledo

3 nights – Salamanca

3 nights – Leon – we plan to do a day trip to Astorga

1 night – Lugo – for the Roman city wall

3 nights – Betanzos – we plan to do day trips to A Coruna and Santiago de Compostela