Please sign in to post.

Itinerary Help - 8 days (and change) in March 2019

Hello,

I studied in Spain as a junior in college and 20+ years later am finally going back! So excited. Doing an extended spring break with my family (husband, 2 kids - ages 13 and 9) in late March 2019. We are flying in/out of Madrid. So hard to rule places out but for this trip the must-sees are: Madrid, Toledo, Sevilla, Granada (where I studied), and Cordoba. (with Cordoba being a drop if need be...I think?)

Things I'm contemplating or struggling with:
*Whether to do Toledo as a day trip from Madrid or go overnight.
*Whether to do Madrid at the beginning of the trip, or at the end. My mind wants to start off bigger (Madrid first) and go smaller, but I've also read advice on here that Toledo is a great place to get over jet lag (we will be coming from the west coast).
*Will likely do Cordoba either as a day trip from Sevilla or pass through for a few hours on the way to Granada. Any thoughts there?
*I feel like it's best to go to Sevilla first, then on to Granada and back to Madrid, but any reason I should be considering the opposite and do Granada first, then Sevilla?
*Should I build in more time in Madrid (beginning or end) to also do a day trip to Segovia? (If we also just did a day trip to Toledo, most likely.)
*Anything else I'm missing or not thinking about?

Overall, here are 2 options I'm looking at as of now:

Option #1
Day 1 (Thursday): Arrive Madrid 12:30pm
Day 2 (Friday): Madrid
Day 3 (Saturday): Toledo (day trip)
Day 4 (Sun): Madrid
Day 5 (Mon): Depart Madrid in the morning for Sevilla
Day 6 (Tues): Cordoba (day trip)
Day 7 (Wed): Sevilla
Day 8 (Thurs): Depart Sevilla in the morning for Granada
Day 9 (Fri): Granada; leave late afternoon for Madrid
Day 10 (Sat): Depart Madrid 10am

Option #2
Day 1 (Thursday): Arrive Madrid 12:30pm; go straight to Toledo
Day 2 (Friday): Toledo
Day 3 (Saturday): Depart Toledo in the morning for Sevilla
Day 4 (Sun): Sevilla