Please sign in to post.

Cordoba or Not? Feedback on 8 day trip to Spain in Oct. 2019

My partner and I are traveling to Spain for 8 days in October. My goal is to hit Madrid, Barcelona, and Cordoba but I do not know if that will be too much for the limited time. I am very interested in seeing Cordoba as I have a degree in religious history and it seems like something I should not miss although I worry it is going to prove hectic with travel to and from Madrid plus the addition of Barcelona.

I have written out two itinerary options but would love feedback! I have been to Madrid and Toledo before but my partner has never been to Spain. We are also somewhat budget conscious - I can't really tell if driving or the train will cost more.

Option 1:
Tuesday - Madrid (Land 6:20am, explore, check into hotel)
Wednesday - All day Madrid
Thursday - Day trip to Toledo by train
Friday - Check out of hotel then take train to Córdoba and stay over night in Cordoba
Saturday - Explore Córdoba more and stay overnight
Sunday - Morning train back to Madrid and take the train or fly using Iberia Shuttle to Barcelona (Barcelona overnight)
Monday - Barcelona
Tuesday - Barcelona
Wednesday - back to Madrid by train or Iberia Air Shuttle for flight back to Boston at 12pm

Option #2
Tuesday - Madrid (Land 6:20am, explore, check in at hotel)
Wednesday - All day Madrid
Thursday - Rent car and drive to Toledo then on to Córdoba (sleep overnight Córdoba)
Friday - Explore Córdoba and stay overnight
Saturday - Drive back to Madrid (4 hours) then head to Barcelona (by train or plane)
Sunday - Barcelona
Monday - Possible day trip to Montserrat mountains (but still stay in Barcelona)
Tuesday - Barcelona
Wednesday - back to Madrid to fly home
***another alternative for this plan would be to stay in Madrid Saturday night then head to Barcelona on Sunday

Posted by
72 posts