Please sign in to post.

Scotland Itinerary June 2017

Hi! I have been doing a lot of research with guidebooks and looking through the posts in this forum (which have all been very helpful!). This is the itinerary that I have come up with for my trip. I was wondering if this is feasible? Any recommendations or changes that I could make? This is my first time going to Scotland and I'm planning on using public transportation. I enjoy a variety of things: history, hiking, museums, castles, sports, etc.

Day 1: Arrive in Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Day 2: Edinburgh - Edinburgh Castle & John Knox House
Day 3: Edinburgh - Arthur's Seat & Palace of Holyrood House
Day 4: Stirling
Day 5: Inverness
Day 6: Inverness - Culloden Battlefield
Day 7: Inverness - Isle of Skye Tour
Day 8: Oban (just leaving this as a travel day)
Day 9: Day Trip to Iona, Mull, and Staffa
Day 10: Glasgow
Day 11: Glasgow
Day 12: Glasgow
Day 13: Leave to Ireland (which I am currently researching/planning)

Thank you for your help :).

Posted by
1448 posts

Your itinerary covers a lot of territory. The distances in Scotland do not look that big on the maps...but the time to travel will be greatly extended when you use public transportation. Traveling to the Isles is especially time consuming. I admire your choices but I would make sure there is timely public transportation available. One solution would be to look at some of the mini-tours from the big city/town locations. An example is boat trips from Inverness on Loch Ness. Both Glasgow and Edinburgh are both good walkable cities with lots of museums and galleries plus historic sites. Stirling is fairly small but has lots to see. Culloden...can be evocative if you have Clan that died there but is way out of the way otherwise. If you are a student I would check with the local Universities for travel and accommodations that may be available to you at discount. Check Visit Scotland and Historic Scotland online sites for Pass info and a lot of ideas.

Posted by