Please sign in to post.

Scotland and Ireland July 2018 with two teenage boys!

Hi all
This is my first time posting here, so please go gentle with me. Myself, hubby and two teenage boys (16 and 13) are planning a trip to Ireland/Scotland next year. We will first be doing a 7 day River Cruise that finishes in Budapest. From there, we would like to fly out to either Ireland or Scotland( not sure where first) , hire a car and drive around.

I have a gazillion questions so bear with me:

Firstly, we will need to end our trip at an airport that gets us home to Australia - so I guess any airport that goes via London will get us there. Keeping that in mind and the fact we have a hire car, would it be best to start in Ireland or Scotland? From what I have read, it seems it would be cheaper to hire a car for one country, then fly or go on the ferry on foot to the next, and then pick up a new rental car. Does this sound right? My gut instinct is to fly to Edinburgh first and end the trip somewhere in Ireland.

I was thinking two night in Edinburgh, and then three somewhere else and three somewhere else.....we aren't really city people, so thinking two nights will be enough. Then the question is where to next. I don't want to run ourselves ragged driving from place to place, rather find somewhere lovely to base ourselves for a few days, where we can make day trips. We do try to avoid the well beaten tourist path and love to soak up the atmosphere of a place. It's ok if we don't see everything, but a castle or two would be great, beautiful scenery, a walk in the wild, definitely need to see the coast and some culture/history.

So I need suggestions for two or three places that are in good locations for day trips. If there is some magic spot where someone thinks we could base ourselves for the rest of our Scottish trip, I am open to suggestions.