Please sign in to post.

Inverness

My husband and I are traveling to Scotland next May. I am just beginning to make an outline of our plans in preparation for buying tickets and making reservations. We are planning on being there about 3 weeks, and visiting the cities of Edinburgh, Stirling, St. Andrews, and Edinburgh. Right now, I am thinking that we will stay in Edinburgh for two weeks, and make a day trip via train to St. Andrews, and two day trips to Stirling. Then checkout of our apartment in Edinburgh and travel by train to Inverness - to later return the same way and stay at an airport hotel in Edinburgh the night before we fly out of there to return home (to Orlando's airport). I'm trying to decide how long to stay in Inverness. We don't want to try driving a car while we're in Scotland. We will be staying in a self-catering apartment while we are in Scotland, as we cook most of our own meals (we eat a strictly plant-base diet, so it's pretty necessary to cook for ourselves). So part of our time will involve grocery shopping and settling in upon our arrival in Inverness (and Edinburgh, for that matter). While in Inverness, I have found a day trip which cruises on Loch Ness to see Eileen Donan Castle. And another day trip which takes us up into the Highlands and Speyside. I want to feel too, that we have actually seen and experienced the city of Inverness itself, as much as possible without being able to drive ourselves about. I'd appreciate any suggestions and/or ideas about this plan and how many nights we might want to stay in Inverness. Thanks so much!

Posted by
1376 posts

Hi, Connie,