Please sign in to post.

Camera Suggestions

I'm looking to upgrade my camera for a trip to Scotland next fall. I was hoping to get some recommendations from the experienced folk on here :) I'm a bit torn between a point-and-click vs. DSLR (which I currently have). I would very much like to take HDR photos, and I have a suspicion that water-resistant would be a bonus as well. The one complicating factor, which I suppose also plays into point-and-click or not, is that we'll have 2 active young children (4 1/2 and almost 9 years). Price-wise, well, I'd like to not go over say $600 (and if going DSLR, I do have 2 older lenses I can use), however hit me with your suggestions regardless of price, I might be able to finagle something. I'm an amateur photographer, which might be obvious from me asking this question in the first place...

Thanks in advance!

Dave

Posted by
67 posts

I have done the DSLR thing for a long time but for the last 3 European trips I have used a Sony RX100-m4. Fabulous pocketable camera that allows me to take high quality images. Only issue is the lens only goes 24-70 but I have learned to accept the short telephoto. It’s a fast lens, very solid and did I mention it fits in my front pant pocket?

The m4 has reasonably fast AF including one that tracks movement based on subjects eyes. The m5, albeit more expensive, is even faster AF.

Panasonic has the ZS100 (and now the ZS200) which covers 25-250 but with a slower lens and slightly inferior image quality to the Sony.

On water resistant you’ll give up a lot in terms of image quality and AF. I have a waterproof type baggy made for phones and P&S that I use when I’m really worried. But mostly I just rely on pockets. I believe the m5 is splash resistant whatever that means.

Checkout dpreview.com

Posted by
5835 posts