Please sign in to post.

Advice

Hi! My adult daughter and myself are planning a trip to Scotland late Aug 2023. I'd like any advice anyone would like to give! We are from Canada. What interests us most is the culture, history, castles and the beautiful country side. Im not too good at doing strenuous walks. Im considering the Fairy Pools, it sounds like I could manage the walk...
Aug 22 - arrive in Edinburgh
Aug 22-24 stay in Edinburgh. We were wondering about doing a day trip to Stirling sometime here?
Aug 25-29- Rabbies tour of North Coast 500. We wanted to do this tour so that we both enjoy the scenery instead of one driving and missing alot. Orkney Island is one of my top interests.
Aug 29- overnight in Edinburgh
Aug 30- Rent a car. Over night in Dundee. Stop in St Andrews
Aug 31 - Overnight in Aberdeen.Explore Aberdeen.
Sept 1 - Leave Aberdeen, lunch in Inverness and on to Ullapool, Overnight in Ullapool
Sept 2- Ferry over to Stornaway, tour Black houses and Lews castle, overnight here.
Sept 3 - Drive down island to Tarbert and overnight.
Sept 4- Ferry to Uig. Tour north part of the island and overnight in Portree.
Sept 5- Tour south part of the island and up to Fort William, overnight here.
Sept 6- Jacobite Train and explore Ft William.
Sept 7- I had hoped to take the West Highland train down to Glasgow but I dont think that will work as I dont think I can drop off the rental car in Ft William. I would imagine we will just drive to Glasgow and spend a few days there. I do want to see Stirling and I would like to do a boat tour of Loch Lomond.
We fly out Sept 10.
Im not sure if this all sounds too much?? We'd obviously like to see as much as we can and dont want to miss any of the top list of things to see. Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated! I'm 69 and Scotland has been on the top of my list of places to see since I was probably 12 or 13! I'm VERY excited!

Posted by
1376 posts

Hi, annemccormick4,