Please sign in to post.

Renting a Car

Hello! I'll be travelling to Portugal in July for three weeks. My family and I intend to rent a car to tour the country. Any recommendations for honest companies to rent from?

Posted by
2916 posts

I'd first check out what's available through Auto Europe (http://www.autoeurope.com/) and Kemwel (http://www.kemwel.com/), two brokers under the same ownership. I've been using them for rentals in France for about 25 years, with no complaints. They work with most of the major rental companies.

Posted by
1665 posts

I second the Auto Europe recommendation. They are a consolidator so you will likely pick up your car from Europcar but I've always been happy with the car and service using Auto Europe.

Posted by
446 posts

I just looked at Autoeurope and Hertz rentals in Portugal. They seem incredibly expensive compared to other countries in Europe where we have rented. Is this what others have found as well?

Posted by
1665 posts

They may get more expensive in the high summer months. I'm renting a car next week and the price is 210€ for 10 days - which I think is a very good price. I'm using Autoeurope, and have used them almost exclusively for many years. I've always been satisfied with their service.
Depending on where you will be going, you may very likely be able (and advised) to not have the car the entire time you are here.
For Porto and Lisbon, a car would be a liability. And, getting between the bigger cities, trains are inexpensive and easy. Take a look at your itinerary and see if you can cut down the days (or weeks) you have the car..

Posted by
33 posts