Please sign in to post.

Itinerary Ideas?

Headed with my 4 year old to Porugal arriving July 25th early am. 2.5 days in Lisbon, take fast bus to Opidos (recommended by a friend for the castle and relaxed atmosphere.) 2 days there then 5 nights in Porto. ( We will go by car service which is expensive but, I prefer over renting automatic car. August 3, 4, 5 I have left open and trying to figure if I want Nazare on the way back to Lisbon or maybe Cascais for relaxed end to our trip. The challenge is the car service Porto to Nazare is very expensive. Another choice is to stay around Porto the last 3 days but, I kinda hate to miss Nazare. Any thoughts? I probably will daytime to Sintra Day 2 of Lisbon. Thank you for your thoughts. Someone told me, if I see Nazare, I will want to live there! Not going to go to Algarve as I can save that for a different trip.

Posted by
27062 posts

I have no experience traveling with a 4-year-old, but Lisbon is a lot larger than Porto, and you're giving yourself only 2 full, non-jetlagged days there.

You will probably find Obidos very touristy during the daytime. That may not feel as relaxing as you're expecting, though I'm sure it wlll be nice and quiet in the evening and early morning.

As for Nazare, I believe folks who've been there recently have not been impressed. It wasn't all that exciting to me, either, and I was there decades ago when it wasn't as touristy. But in any case, I think Flixbus travels from Porto to Nazare (though not frequently), or you could take the train (more fun for your child) to the nearby town of Valado and get a taxi from there. You'd be changing trains in Coimbra, and the total train time would be about 4 hours. I don't think there's a need to pay for car service all the way from Porto in this situation.

Posted by
69 posts