Please sign in to post.

Itinerary Suggestions

Hello All!

I am in the early stages of planning a 2 week trip to Poland at the end of Nov/early Dec. Air fare is super cheap and I am going to take advantage. Minus travel days, I will have 12 days to explore and would like to keep it to 2 major cities with day/train trips from each. I would love suggestions about where to explore. I enjoy culture, restaurants, history, etc. I love just walking an exploring places. I'm a chef so I love food related experiences as well. I'm also looking forward to holiday activities, Christmas markets, etc.

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I have been all over Europe but this will be first time in this area.

PS, I am of Polish heritage :)

Posted by
1335 posts

I have been to Warsaw, Krakow, Wroclaw, and Poznan. I like them all. You cannot miss Krakow. Warsaw is a transit hub, but it's also the least scenic.

Poland is quite spread out and it's not possible to do day trips between any of the four cities mentioned. Food is really awesome, as numerous young ambitious chefs set up restaurants offering new Polish cuisine. Prices are also much more affordable than in most of western Europe. You'll love it there.

Posted by
8378 posts

RSE has a guidebook concentrating on Warsaw, Krakow and Gdansk which is pretty good at identifying sights in those three cities. Both central Warsaw and Krakow are full of restaurants, both traditional and trendy international. The InYourPocket website and downloadable guides are a great way to locate places near where you will be. For a cultural heritage thing, if you travel from Warsaw to Krakow, you should stop in Czestochowa and see the Shrine of the Black Madonna, which is at the core of Polish religious history. Auschwitz is a day trip from Krakow, and important to see.

Posted by
1743 posts