Please sign in to post.

8 week trip Eastern Europe 2020 / 1st time in Poland help me choose a Tri City base for a week

Hello I am a retired teacher planning a SOLO trip to eastern Europe for spring/summer 2020. I want a one week "base" stay in a TRI -city location but cant decide which one is most convenient for cafes, museums and public transport: Gdansk? Sopot? or Gdynia. I have traveled extensively but this will be my 1st visit to Poland. I want to enjoy a mix of beaches + museums+ lingering at cafes. I am looking at hostel dorms and private rooms listed on airbnb that meet my budget of $30 or less per night with shared kitchen.

Looking forward to YOUR response!

Best regards, Carol /USA

Posted by
3891 posts

Hello, for me beaches are not the first thing that come to mind when thinking of Poland, of course they have them close to Gdansk but Sopot/Gdynia were so-so for me. Even when I was in Gdynia in August the Baltic was quite cold, probably in early summer even more so. On the other hand the various museums are quite good in Gdansk though.

As an alternative destination, consider spending a week in Poland's Masurian Lakes District, between Gdansk and Warsaw. A land of many quaint medieval towns all strung together by picturesque lakes and river-ways, the best part it's fairly off the radar for international tourists, which can't be said for Gdansk. Here is a recent article on the Masurian Lakes District from The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2019/jul/02/poland-lake-district-rivers-canoe-kayak-cycling

The Masurian Lakes District is perfect for nature lovers, however if you are looking for more of an urban experience I would then opt for Gdansk or Warsaw.

Posted by
27048 posts