Please sign in to post.

Oslo to Bergen via NIN side stay in August 2024 - your input requested

Dear Fellow RS Travelers,

Semi-frequent traveler to Europe (and by that, I mean 1/year), but this is my first time to Norway and I’m still stressed about how much more we’re spending to visit, so the stakes seem higher, as compared to countries more south and east. FYI; physically active late 40s with 11 year old.

I’d appreciate your words of wisdom about this draft agenda. I’ve got accommodation and a car rental booked (all still cancelable), but given how full everything was in February when I did most of the bookings, I’m not excited about having to make any drastic changes or finding out there’s nothing available, but I'll do what I need to if necessary of course.

Day 1: Sat., Aug 10th – Arrive in Oslo at noon
Day 2: Sun., Aug. 11th – All day in Oslo
Day 3: Mon., Aug. 12th – Start NIN: Train to Flam via Myrdal; overnight in Aurland (there’s a cruise ship in Flam that day unfortunately, but it is what it is. (pick up rental car)
Day 4: Tue., Aug. 13th – Drive from Aurland to Lustrafjord (overnight in Nes)
Day 5: Wed. Aug. 14th – overnight in Nes
Day 6: Thur. Aug 15th – overnight in Nes
Day 7: Fri., Aug. 16th – Return to Flam (return car by 11:00 a.m. I know we need to get up EARLY); resume NIN: ferry to Gudvangen, bus to Voss; Voss to Bergen – overnight in Bergen
Day 8: Sat. Aug. 17th – All day Bergen
Day 9: Sun. Aug 18th – Fly out Bergen for home

I realize I’m cutting my time rather short in both cities. I’m disappointed, but we can’t really add another day to Oslo without leaving on the 8th and my husband will likely kill me because it doesn’t leave much time for winding down work/packing, etc.