Please sign in to post.

Norway in a Nutshell

I'm looking into the Norway In a Nutshell ride from Oslo to Bergen.
I looked on the FjordTours website and the cost seemed kinda high for my budget. I'm wondering if it would be cheaper if I book all the trains/buses/boats myself. This is my first time to Norway, so perhaps that would be hard to do since I don't have a good sense of the place. Does anyone have any suggestions regarding the more economical way to travel this scenic route? I want to be somewhat frugal, but I don't want to miss the scenic routes. Maybe purchasing the entire tour through this company would be worth the high cost, so I'd love to get the opinions of others on this.
I was thinking of staying overnight in Flam. Any recommendations on Flam? Is that a good place to stop on the route from Oslo to Bergen?
Also, I would be happy to hear some thoughts on Bergen. My family is interested in some moderate hiking trails. We have two kids (10 and 8) and we hike quite a bit.
Thanks.

Posted by
5835 posts

A DIY NIN should be cheaper than a packaged NIN. The NIN is basically a combination of travel modes from Oslo to Bergen or the reverse - Bergen Line train Oslo to Myrdal, Flåm Railway to the fjord, boat from Flåm to Gudvangen, bus to Voss then train to Bergen. You can book each leg yourself and especially if you can take advantage of advance purchase "Minipris" discount fares. However, note that the NSB website only sells tickets about 3 months out.

Posted by
2335 posts