Please sign in to post.

Itinerary Feedback Request

I am just beginning to plan our trip to Scandinavia for next May/June. We have 13 days, and I'm thinking of the following:

Monday: Fly into Bergen, stay for 2 nights
Wednesday: Norway in a Nutshell, Part 1, staying overnight in Flam
Thursday: Norway in a Nutshell, Part 2: do Fjord Safari before continuing trip to Oslo
2 nights and nearly 2 full days in Oslo
Saturday night: Overnight Ferry from Oslo to Copenhagen
3 nights and 3 full days in Copenhagen
Wednesday: Copenhagen to Stockholm (not sure about car, train, or flight)
4 nights and nearly 4 full days (depending on how we get there) in Stockholm
Sunday: Depart Stockholm for home

Unfortunately, we have no flexibility about the number of days, and the days of the week are fixed (we already have our flights). We would like to see more of the countryside in Sweden and Denmark, but we are opting to see Stockholm and Copenhagen instead.

We do not enjoy tours, so I am a bit concerned about doing NIN. But, given that we'll be there in late May (before the season really gets underway?), we are hoping that it won't be too crazy. And it really does seem like a great way to cover so much territory. Also, we are not fans of cruises, but the overnight ferry seems like a great experience.

Any thoughts on any of this would be greatly appreciated!

Posted by
8141 posts

We're flying into Copenhagen on Norwegian Air Express for about 1/2 the fare of current European flights.
After 3 days, we're getting on a 9 day cruise to Rostock, Germany, Tallin, St. Petersburg (2 nights), Helsinki, Stockholm and back into Copenhagen for 1 night.
We're then flying to Oslo on Norwegian Air Shuttle ($71), spending the night and taking the Norway in a Nutshell trip to Bergen (2 nights).
We're flying home from Bergen with a stopover in Oslo.