Please sign in to post.

Driving tour of stave churches Summer 2023

Because I am a history nerd, that's why I want to see as many stave churches as possible. My plan is to fly into Oslo, visit the Gol Stave Church with public transit, then rent a car for most of my tour, winding up in Trondheim. Once there, I'd like to turn in the car, spend a few nights, then travel to Tromso by train, then return to Oslo and back to the US. (I know there aren't any stave churches in Tromso, I'm just adding it to the trip because I may not make it back to Norway again)

I'm hoping for input on a few questions:
1) Has anyone else done a similar tour of the stave churches or an extended driving tour? Any thoughts, things I should look out for?
2) Any concerns/thoughts about driving conditions in July and August, especially in the rural areas? (I'm an experienced driver, especially in the Rocky Mountains and the California coast, but for an example--I'm wondering how fast the locals drive and if I should be prepared to pull over often to let them by. Also, is there roadside assistance comparable to AAA in the US?)
3) Whether you've encountered double booking while traveling in Norway? (this seems to come up often in reviews)
4) Any knowledge about the safety of traveling alone in Norway?

Really appreciate any information, thanks in advance!

Posted by
6374 posts

2: The risk of bad weather is probably low, but you still need to keep an eye on the weather forecast. And as always, make sure you have enough time. The roads are narrow and winding and the speed limit rarely exceeds 80. Locals that know the road also tend to drive a bit faster than those that haven't been there before, but don't let that stress you. Let them stay behind you until the can find a place to overtake. Pulling over and letting them pass is on most roads not an option. E.g. this is what the E6, the main road between Oslo and Trondheim, looks like for large parts: https://goo.gl/maps/t2kuh86KbqP62jV86