Please sign in to post.

amsterdam layover

I'm flying from the US to Munich with a layover in Amsterdam. We have a choice of 3 layover time... 55 min, 3.5 hours or 7 hours... I'm wondering if we take the long layover, 7 hours, does that give us enough time to see some of the city? Is there a place to stow our carryons and explore for a couple of hours? If this isn't doable, do I take the really short layover and having to change planes and airlines or be safe with the 3.5 hour layover? Sorrry, I have no experience with Amsterdam and the airport. TIA

Posted by
20023 posts

I think 7 hours enough time to go into Amsterdam. I've done it. Used to be that 4 hours was considered doable, but with increased security these days, more like 6 hours, so 7 should be fine. There is a left luggage office at Schipol.

Posted by
882 posts

"A Taste of Honey is Worse Than None at All" - stay at the airport. Schiphol is quite entertaining and remember - Munich is your destination. The last time I flew AMS to the US (late April '18), the check-in at Schiphol took a very long time - over three hours. Maybe something was going on, maybe not. If your ticket is a complete destination flight - US to Munich, I'd do my best to reach your final destination as promptly as possible, although making that 55 minute option would take a Miracle. (Oh, I get it.)

Posted by
2487 posts

It's very well possible to see something of Amsterdam with a 7-hour layover: trains (EUR 9 for a return ticket) leave every few minutes and take around 15 minutes. The area west of the Central station - around the Brouwersgracht - is very nice and not too crowded.
I have never had any reason to use it, but the Schiphol website gives information about luggage storage.

Posted by
3961 posts