Please sign in to post.

2017 Trip

So, recently I have decided to travel to the Netherlands to visit some of my family that lives over there. I am currently a sophomore in college and have asked three of my friends to go with me, and they are around 75% sure that they will go. As of right now, our traveling expenses (tickets, parking, gas, misc.) is around $1,100 (per person). I was just curious about how much spending money we all should bring. As far as I know, we will be staying with one of my family members while we are down there. So, that gets rid of the hotel costs. I'm also pretty sure that we won't be going out every night and getting food as we might have family dinner, so that also cuts from the costs. I was thinking that I would take $1,000-1,500 spending cash with me, but I'm not sure if that is too much or too little, because I'm not sure what my family would have planned out for us. Any input would be fantastic, thanks!

Posted by
533 posts

How long are you going for, and what do you want to do while you're there (e.g., visit museums, take train trips to other cities, etc.)?

Posted by
2788 posts

Is this your first trip to Europe? If it is, I would strongly suggest that you get a copy of RS "Europe thru the Back Door" and also his "Amsterdam" guide book. If you have neither, you can purchase both elsewhere on this web site. I have gone to Europe for 13 of the last 14 years and have always found his guide books most helpful in planning my trips.

Posted by
6 posts

I went like 8 years ago when I was in 8th grade, but this will be first time going without my family. And to be honest, it's all dependent on what my family would be willing to do, but I have talked to them and they said since I hardly go down there, they'd make sure we had a great vacation. So, I'm sure they'll take us out to eat, shop and visit some museums and stuff like that. They also mentioned railroading.

Posted by
6 posts