Please sign in to post.

Venice or Verona?

I have an embarrassment of riches. We've been able to add 4 more days to our vacation in Italy in September. First is a week long stay with friends in a Tuscany villa. At the end of the week,. we are motoring back to Florence to drop off our car rental and plan to take the train to Venice for a few days. I'm not sure I want to spend 3 1/2 days in Venice; thinking of doing 1 or 2 nights in Verona. My questions, should we do 2 nights in Venice and 1 in Verona? Or vice versa? Thinking that after 7 days of relaxing in Tuscany, the hustle and tourism of Venice may be too much. But I've heard and read on this site that it's a city not to be missed. We are spending 3 days in Florence before the Tuscany week, so my head will be exploding with the beauty of Italy by the time this vacation ends. Or should we just skip Verona, leave it for another (hopefully) trip and spend our extra time in Venice? We have visited Rome in a past trip and my husband doesn't want to return - I dragged him into too many churches........
thank you for any and all advice!

Posted by
403 posts

Hi Cheryl, if you have never been to Venice, I would suggest that you stay in Venice, wander away from St Mark's Square and explore the less busy areas. Even in the busiest time of the year, it's quite easy to find a tranquil spot if you just let yourself take the time to wander. Leave Verona for another trip. Be sure to take a vaporetto ride along the Grand Canal after sunset. Buon viaggio!

Posted by
2123 posts