Please sign in to post.

Validating train tickets

Hello experienced train travellers in Italy!
Thank you in advance for your help! I now know I will buy my future tickets thru Trenitalia but as a newbie I bought train tickets for Sept/24 already from Trainline.
1) If I have these digital tickets now in a wallet on my phone do I just show them to conductor or do I have to validate them before getting on train. If so how do I validate them?
2) Because I bought tickets from Trainline do I have to check in on day of ride and how do I do that?
Thanks so much!

Posted by
543 posts

I am not sure about Italy, but I just traveled in other countries with a "digital ticket" and there was a button on the app to click to validate that the conductor looked for. It's like the old paper ticket when you stamped it, I guess this makes the digital ticket unable to be used again in the future. It was easy and the conductor looked at it and moved on.

Posted by
23319 posts

With the exception of Regionale trains, you ticket is ONLY good for a certain train, at a certain time, with an assigned seat so there is no validation. Just show it to the conductor. Regionale tickets have a valid time window -- generally four hours so as long as you are travel in the right direction within the time window you are fine.

Posted by
1128 posts

do you have an assigned seat on a specific train? If so, just show to the conductor. Your ticket is good just on that train and for that seat (unless you change the reservation) so no need to validate.

If instead it just shows a train time but not an assigned seat you are on a Regionale train. Trainline has info on their website on how to validate that ticket, and you need to do so after 12:01am on the day you are traveling.

Posted by
8 posts