Please sign in to post.

Trip to Italy

We are planning a trip to Italy. These are the areas we are thinking about. Fly into Milan and travel to Varenna for 3 nights in lake district, take train to Vernazza for 1 night to tour Cinque Terra, take train to Lucca for 3 nights and tour Tuscany, take train to Florence for 2 nights, take train to Milan and fly out. Is this a good itinerary and would it be better to go early April to beat the crowds or weather wise to wait until early May?

Posted by
5407 posts

I have found it best to avoid Italy the week before and after Easter, which is April 20, 2025. Have a great trip!

Posted by
27614 posts

I am not an expert on Tuscany, so I hope someone else will comment on the idea of using Lucca as a base for seeing Tuscany, apparently without a car.

Emily, do you have specific places in Tuscany you want to see?

Posted by
3 posts

Well, we were just looking at the map and thought Lucca seemed in a better location to then get to Florence than San Gimignano. Your thoughts please?

Posted by
1026 posts

Hello emilyw_99, and welcome to the forum!

A couple of thoughts on your itinerary. The day from Varenna to CT is pretty long day on the train realistically 5-6 hours if not a maybe a little more depending on the schedule. This is a long way to go for one night - you'll have the evening of the day you check in and and then how ever long you stay the next day before leaving to explore Vernazza.

Generally I would never stay one place for only a night unless it is for travel logistics - like getting into a city the night before a flight - because you don't even get a full day. I would look for a way to get more time in CT to explore it more thoroughly or save it for another time. Two nights in Florence is only one full day so I think the obvious - if hard - choice is to shift the CT day to Florence to at least get two full days there.