Please sign in to post.

Trip to Italy

Hello, this is my first time traveling to Italy and I need some help planning an itinerary. I'm flying in and out of Milan (found a great deal on tickets) I will be arriving in Milan on May 28th around 1pm and leaving June 11. We really want to go to Rome, Venice, (somewhere near the water as well). Any suggestions? I'm planning to stay my last night in Milan. Any suggestions where else I should visit?

Posted by
1046 posts

Welcome! You're going to get lots of wonderful advice here. You just need to help us with some details. Let me start with a basic question: what do you see/do/experience while you are in Italy? To answer your 'basic' question: getting to Venice from Milan is only a couple of hours by train. If you can deal with jetlag, that would mean getting to your hotel in time to unpack, freshen up, get out for a walk before dinner. Venice is not really a 'late night' city, so you won't really be missing too much if you retire on the early side. You'll get lots of suggestions about details for a Venice stay. My favorite hotel: Hotel Ala (hotelala.it).

From Venice you should take the train (trains in Italy can be a wonderful way to get around) to Florence. It's only a couple of hours. You need to decide what to do/see/experience in Florence and how much time that will take.

Then, on to Rome. Again by train (trenitalia.com), and again only a pleasant, short ride. There is more variety of experiences available to you in Rome since its history/culture covers lots of centuries. Get tired of one, just turn the corner.