Please sign in to post.

Trip Planning Help

Hi, everyone. I'm planning an 18night/17day trip to Italy. We're a young couple, in our mid-twenties, and this is my first time to Italy. I want to go EVERYWHERE so I need help knocking some destinations off of my list. (or for someone experienced to tell me that my crazy travel plans will actually work!).

May 8th - Arrive in Venice (late, abt 11pm)

May 9th - Venice

May 10th - Venice

May 11th - To Cinque Terre (best way to get there?)

May 12th - Cinque Terre

May 13th - Cinque Terre

May 14th - To Pisa and Lucca for the day then to Florence to sleep

May 15th - Florence

May 16th - Florence

May 17th - To Rome (possibly stopping in Siena?)

May 18th - Rome

May 19th - Rome

May 20th - Rome

After this, I'm lost. I still have the 21st -25th. So that leaves me 4 days. I want to spend this in the Naples/Sorrento area with a definite visit to Pompeii. I'm also considering the Amalfi Coast or Capri. (any opinions?) I've read a lot about Naples and Sorrento, I think I will love Naples! Should I stay in one place, or split it between both destinations? Or maybe just a day trip to either place? I'm also thinking a flight out of Naples (on the 25th). OR we could do the Naples/Sorrento area then head back up to Rome and fly out of Rome.

Is this too much? I don't think I'll mind moving around and being on the go for the entire trip, but I also don't want to feel rushed. I was also thinking about not booking hotels for the Naples/Sorrento area in case we decide we want to stay somewhere else longer.

Any suggestions would be great (: Thanks in advance!

Posted by
663 posts

Mostly your plan seems reasonable. Sorrento is centrally located so you have the ability to see the everything in the area from Naples to Amalfi. Siena can be done as a day trip from Florence by bus.

Posted by
1323 posts

I would stay an extra day in Venezia and visit Murano and Burano - but I am partial to Venezia :-)

Venice - Cinque Terre: