Please sign in to post.

traveler's checks

You mention that many of the eatings places in Italy are cash only. Does this mean we can use traveler's checks?? You don't mention travelers in either of the books that I have purchased for my up coming trip to Italy.
I'm studying your books very carefully and preparing to celebrate my 79th birthday in Rome.
Aileen

Posted by
1449 posts

Aileen, From your message I gather you might be thinking this is a place to correspond with Rick. But the responses here are not from Rick Steves or his company.

As it says at the bottom of the page if you click on the "Travelers Helpline" link above, "All posted responses are from the traveling public and are not supplied by Europe Through the Back Door staff members unless specifically noted."

Best wishes for your trip!

Posted by
4555 posts

Hello Aileen, and congratulations on your birthday trip! Just to let you know you have posted to a website where fellow travelers answer questions, not Rick himself.
However, when the book mentions cash, it means cash. Travelers checks just aren't used any more. They are very difficult to cash anywhere, and stores and restaurants really don't like dealing with them. You may want to take some as an emergency backup, but most people use their ATM cards to withdraw cash from bank machines...much easier and cheaper.
If you need to ask a question of Rick or his staff, you can click here to send them an e-mail.
Have a great trip!!

Posted by
1018 posts

Traveler's checks are not a good strategy any more. They are expensive to cash and VERY TIME CONSUMING. Use a bank ATM card and you will be then using a good strategy. ATM machines are everywhere and easy to use.

Buon viaggio,

RB

Posted by
1170 posts