Please sign in to post.

Travel from Basel to Lake Como

I’m traveling to Basel this summer to take a river cruise to Amsterdam. We are arriving on Wednesday hoping to visit Lake Como before boarding our boat on Saturday.

I’m overwhelmed with the process and would appreciate some help with recommendations on the best way to travel to and from Basel. I think it will be by train but I’m not sure. Are there scenic train rides from Basel to Lake Como?
Thanks so much for any suggestions. This is my first time traveling outside of the US!

Posted by
20940 posts

Yes, an outstanding one from Chur, the Bernina Express to Tirano Italy, then a local train toward Milan on the entire east shore of Lake Como.

Posted by
71 posts

Confirming what Sam said. We got off a river cruise in Basel and took a train to Tirano, Italy. We did have to change trains along the route, in St. Moritz I believe. It was a regular Swiss rail ticket, not the Bernina Express company. However, the route was the same the Bernina Express travels. We took a first class ticket and had the car to ourselves for 90% of the trip. Windows opened on the train car so we had a great time hopping from one window to the next to take photos. In Tirano, you exit the Swiss rail building and cross a very short distance to the TrenNord station to continue into Italy. If you haven't already decided, I suggest staying mid-lake on Lake Como. Take the TrenNord train from Tirano to Varenna and stay there, using the ferry system to explore around the lake.

Posted by
20940 posts

You can look at train schedules for Switzerland at https://www.sbb.ch/en/buying/pages/fahrplan/fahrplan.xhtml
Italian trains after about June 8 will not show up on the schedule now, but the times are 99% not going to change.