Please sign in to post.

train from Rome to Manarola

we're traveling from Rome to Manarola in April and what is the best train option?

Posted by
688 posts

I would say whichever train schedule works best for you. I would tend towards less changes, but since the last leg to Manarola is a regionale in all options, I would go with the ones with just two trains (1 change).

Posted by
7565 posts

I think all solutions will use some regional trains. Probably the "best" would be a fast train from Rome to La Spezia, then the regional train to Manarola in just over 4 hours.

Some Solutions take a fast train to Florence, then Intercity Trains to Pisa and La Spezia, in a little more time, but not worth having to do multiple changes.

Look at options on Trenitalia, probably no good options on Italo. Avoid third party sites.

Posted by
3 posts

Thank you everyone for the responses and helpful information!! I'm new at taking the train in Italy, and I was wondering if you can purchase 1st class tickets even if it's an intercity train?! And can we purchase young ticket and senior ticket if we're not Italian?! Thank you for all your insite--it's greatly appreciated!!

sgrinder

Posted by
688 posts

I am unsure on the age related tickets as I have been not in those categories when I have gone.

BUT, if you can purchase 1st class is more or less "it depends". I would say generally IC trains have 1st class though I have never taken them. I know I have been on express trains that were of intercity cars and I don't think they had 1st, they didn't even have assigned seats, which is the weirdest. I HAVE accidentally gotten on a 1st class regionale train and had to beg the conductor to not give me a ticket because I totally forgot it had a first class car hahaha

I think the man in seat 61 has some good tips and overviews of train travel in Italy to give you a good start with information. Watch some youtube videos as well!

Posted by
7565 posts