Please sign in to post.

Taormina or Termini Imerese, Sicily?

Hi Rick and staff,

My husband and I will travel to Sicily from Rome (need a nice hotel to recover from jet lag for 2 nights, then on to Taormina or Termimi for 3night 4 days, I have to choose between the 2 spots, my grandmother grew up in Termini, I have always wanted to go to Taormina because of the beauty. I want to swim and have a day at the beach and a little sightseeing and going to the cemetery. Not sure , What do you recommend and hotels as well. not luxury but 4 stars.

Grazie, prego

Karen

Posted by
1717 posts

Hello karencooklac. Rick Steves does not read the questions here. This Travel Forum is a public board. Any person can reply to questions here. I have no knowledge of Termini. I recommend going to Taormina . It is a good place to be at for 3 nights. Hotel Villa Belvedere is very good. It is at the top of a cliff, very high above the Mediterranean Sea. That hotel's swimming pool is at its patio (terrace). A buffet lunch is served to the guests at that patio (terrace). Walk to the cable gondola (lift) for a ride down to the beach (Mediterranean Sea). I do not know about swimming in the Sea at that beach. Taormina has many trees and green plants. The airport is to the south of Taormina. An other hotel, similar to Belvedere, at a near by location and similar setting (the hotel has a patio or terrace at the top of a high cliff above the Sea) does not have a swimming pool, and the cost for being a guest at that hotel is much lower. Information and very many photographs of Hotel Villa Belvedere is at www.villabelvedere.it
(Click on little British flag for English language). Very many photographs of that hotel at Photo Gallery in that internet website. Those photographs can be enlarged for your computer's screen.
www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel
www.booking.com/Italy
www.hotels.com/Taormina

Posted by
15164 posts

You can do both, but considering your limited time, you should rent a car in this case.