Please sign in to post.

Sept/Oct Weather

I'm a newbie traveler to Europe. I'm in the beginning stages of planning a trip to Italy and would like it to be a celebration of my October birthday. It may sound like a newbie question, but wondering what it would be like to travel in Italy in October??? Would I be happier doing so in September? I know it's a broad question but I have to start somewhere. Loved all the info I see on these boards--just discovered this afternoon. Thank you!

Posted by
359 posts

Most of Italy will be wonderful in September and October, especially if you go early October. Might get a little rain in October but that could happen anytime.

Posted by
2455 posts

Patti, I think the absolute best months to visit Italy are either May, or September/October. You avoid the extremes of weather, and the most crowded times. What parts of Italy are you thinking of visiting? There are so many wonderful locations, dependent on your particular interests.

Posted by
10344 posts

October is often a "transition weather month" in some parts of Italy. There can be a significant difference between early October versus late October. .
Of course, the above is just a generalization based on averages, and no one can predict what the October weather will be in 2015 (or 2016).
The last half of September has better chances, based on averages, for better weather than October, but September is also a more crowded or popular month than October.
It also depends on what part of Italy you'll be in. Rome in October is fine, lots of indoor things to do if the weather isn't cooperating, but late October in Lake Como or Cinque Terre probably would not be the best idea, because those are "outdoor places" with not that many options if the weather isn't cooperating.

Posted by
663 posts