Please sign in to post.

Rome Transfer

I need a recommendation for a transfer from Fiumicino Airport to Hotel Lancelot and then on a different day from Hotel Lancelot to another hotel that Holland America Cruise line is having passengers meet at. I booked with Viator already with Trip2Rome but I can cancel. It is my first time going overseas with my daughter and I want everything to go smoothly. Would you recommend going to Stefano's RomeCabs online and booking directly with them or through TripAdvisor (they seem to have more reviews on TripAdvisor) or ask Hotel Lancelot to do the transfer?
Thank you for your suggestions.
Cynthia

Posted by
7084 posts

Welcome to the forum!

Viator is a third party reseller-they don’t actually run any car service

Book directly online with RomeCabs or send them an email detailing your needs

They get excellent reviews here
Use them for all of your transfers

https://www.romecabs.com/

Posted by
5165 posts

...Stefano's RomeCabs...booking directly with them...ask Hotel Lancelot to do the transfer...

Yes, use RomeCabs. We've used them a number of times and have always been pleased. We send them an email directly stating our needs, and get a response within 24 hours.

The only problem with having the hotel arrange the transfer is that you might wind up with a regular cab, a private car service, or the desk clerk's brother-in-law. Happened to us once in Rome, but there were four of us and only one in-law so things went well.

On the other hand, many will say just walk to the official taxi rank and get a ride there. If you do that, have a 3x5 card with you with the name and address of the hotel and the flat fixed rate. I think it's still 50 Euros to anywhere within the old walls.

When going from one hotel to the second, if a taxi stand in nearby, just walk there and take a taxi. Or have the hotel arrange for an official taxi.

Posted by
2 posts