Please sign in to post.

Rome Tours

What is the best tour company to go through to tour the city and is it recommended to go through a tour company instead of just showing up and waiting in line to get in somewhere?

Posted by
11294 posts

I have no experience with Rome tour companies (Rick lists a bunch in his books). But your question "is it recommended to go through a tour company instead of just showing up and waiting in line to get in somewhere?" implies that lines are a great problem. There are only a few places where lines are an issue (mainly the Colosseum and the Vatican Museums). Rick has line-beating tips in his book, but one way is to have certain kinds of tours (others tours don't bypass the line - be careful when purchasing if this is your goal). For St. Peter's, there can be lines, but I don't think they can be skipped, even with a tour (not sure). For the Borghese Gallery, you must have advance reservations (numbers are strictly limited). For most other sights, lines are not really an issue. Of course, you may want a tour for other reasons.

Posted by
23278 posts

Are looking for a tour to take you everywhere or a tour for a specific location? For specific locations we have used Angel Tours and like them a lot.

Posted by
41 posts

Never used tour groups for Rome but did Walks of Italy's Pristine Sistine tour of the Vatican. Thought it was well worth the money. You can check out their tours for Rome

Posted by
1127 posts

Context Travel has amazing tours. Their walks aren't cheap but they are worth every penny. For economical tours try Through Eternity.

Posted by
212 posts