Please sign in to post.

Rental car fees

I've been traveling to Italy practically yearly for the past 10 years, minus Covid years. We all know what happened to car rental pricing. I am starting to see prices softening but there are still outrageous fees for dropping off at other locations. Are any of you having luck with certain agencies? 2 routes in particular are 1) Florence or Siena to Sorrento, and 2) a close pick-up/drop off point just outside of Rome instead of dealing with Fiumicino. Grazie

Posted by
156 posts

Everyone seems to report similarly about high drop off fees on one way rentals so I’m afraid it is the norm for now at least.

Could you potentially get two or more different “round trip” rental cars from hub locations and then train between those destinations? Florence, although far from Rome or Naples in distance, isn’t that far in terms of time on the high speed train.

Posted by
15874 posts

Have you tried with www.autoeurope.com (or .eu)?
I rent through them. When I select the different drop off location the website warns me that there will be additional drop off charges to be paid locally. However I don't think it has never happened. Only once Hertz told me that there would be a Eur 15 drop off fee for dropping off at a different location, but I don't think I've ever received that charge in the card. Since Covid I had a rental with drop off at a different location only in July 2022 through AutoEurope but rented with Europcar (in 2023 I went twice but pick up and drop off was at the same location). I don't remember being charged for the drop off fee. If it was charged to my credit card later I don't remember, but if it was, I'm sure it was small because I didn't notice it.

Posted by
1829 posts

Roberto : fairly certain if you rented recently the auto europe total if you look at the breakdown will show you how much the one way fee was. Is not paid locally any more but part of the quote auto europe generates