Please sign in to post.

Planning a trip a trip to Florence, Rome, sorrento /Pompeii in 2020

This is my first time using the forum.
This will be our first trip to Italy. With another couple.
We have up to 2 weeks. 6/5/20-6/19/20. Can be adjusted.
Rome and sorrento/ Pompeii are musts. My wife would like to include Florence.
Are there tours that include all these? Perhaps a combo of tour and DIY? Rick's videos certainly try to prepare you and we have done England on our own.
Is it practical to do these in 2 weeks?
Thanks

Posted by
31 posts

Two weeks is a good length of time and you should be able to see everything on your list. Be aware that in June in can be quite warm in Italy. This coming week, for example, the day time highs will be in the 90s in Rome every day. Historically, the average high in June is 84, in July it's 90. I'm not a big fan of heat and think April and May are a better time for Italy.

There is no reason you can't do the trip on your own. Italy has an excellent train system that can take you everywhere you want to go. RS's books and the app have great walking tours of many sites. You can find plenty of half-day and full-day tours of specific sites on a site like Viator. Some just meet at a specific site and provide a guided tour and, an all important skip the line, while other transport you by bus to more remote sites.

Florence is worth the trip, regardless of how much time you like to spend in art museums.

Posted by
3112 posts

If you want to include a tour for part of your trip, there's a 2020 RS Rome tour that starts the afternoon of June 7 and ends the morning of June 13. You could visit either Florence or Sorrento/Pompeii for a few days before the Rome tour and the other location for a few days afterwards.

Posted by
6052 posts

Hello Roger

2 weeks is a great amount of time for a first trip to Italy.
Is that 14 nights or 14 days?