Please sign in to post.

Places To Eat In Rome

Don’t get me wrong- I LOVE Rick’s books like a bible. But, the dining recommendations are slim. Can some of you throw out many different eateries? Not too expensive….

Posted by
8693 posts

On the top of this website page there are 4 horizontal lines. Click on them, the search box will appear. Type in Rome restaurants. You will get a number of responses.

Posted by
521 posts

You may want to look up Elizabeth Minchilli and her daughter Sophie Minchilli who both live in Rome and are very knowledgeable about Italian food and restaurants. EM’s website has suggestions and both have lots of recommendations on their Instagram pages. Sophie does food tours in Rome and both do multi day food tours around areas of Italy that are not as touristy.

Posted by
130 posts

We like L'Insalata Ricca - three locations. The one near P Navona has been around since before I was a student in Rome in 1990! Pastas and BIG salads. Moderate prices

Posted by
4428 posts

Recommend you watch Stanley Tucci's Rome episodes, and those of his distaff British counterpart Alex Polizzi and also Bobby Flay of all people did a series with Giada. You will see some stuff.

Posted by
560 posts

For cut pizza, Forno in Campo dei Fiori. Just off Campo dei Fiori, Grappolo d'Oro for dinner. It is near touristy spots but frequented by locals and has great carbonara IMO. Also Cul de Sac near Piazza Navona is a good choice for lunch or dinner. And I second the suggestion to check out Elizabeth Minchilli's and Sophie Minchilli's recommendations. Stay away from Osteria Fortunata and Tonnarello, both tourist traps.

Posted by
513 posts

Il Duca in Trastevere (try the ravioli with truffle sauce)
Al Padovano not far from the Porta Pia

Posted by
214 posts

In the Prati neighborhood, we really like Il Sorpasso. Reservations are usually necessary.

Posted by
7570 posts