Please sign in to post.

Photography

A quick question to throw out to our fellow travelers to the great country of Italy.

Just returned from perhaps our 13-14th trip to Italy and had an interesting experience. We are experienced European travelers who always show respect for the country we are visiting and always try to conduct ourselves as the guests of that country.

Being an avid photographer I take pictures not only of sights but of people. Saw a group of children perhaps in the 8-9 year old range with their teacher/assistants walking down the street in Bologna about to board the local city bus. Had my camera focused and shot perhaps 10-12 pictures. An ideal street scene, so at least I thought.

I was quickly approached and angrily demanded by the teacher not only to cease shooting but to erase any pictures I had taken. This lady looked right over my shoulder as I deleted the pictures. She then left and continued to board the bus. I received additional admonishment from a nearby citizen who had interpreted for me what the teacher was saying..

I looked online to see if I had perhaps unintentionally violated some Italian law but do not think I saw anything applicable.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Richard and Mary Shaw
Chicago

Posted by
16178 posts

These days it is not OK to photograph children of strangers without permission. Not in Italy, or anywhere else.

Posted by
849 posts

I think no matter where you are you have to be very cautious when photographing children. There is so much fear about the photos ending up on the wrong web site. I had an amusing encounter with a class of 10 year olds on Burano last year, and it would have been great to have some shots of them, but I left my camera in my backpack and did my best to understand their attempts at speaking English. It’s unfortunate that the fear of pedophiles has made people this paranoid, but it’s not surprising given some of the stories you see on the news these days.

Posted by