Please sign in to post.

Parma

Hello all,

We will be in the Modena\Parma area for a few days during the second week of December and need some recommendations please. We would like to visit a Parmesan dairy and hopefully do a tour and get some top level cheese (the real good stuff). We would love to also visit a ham producer that is as authentic as possible. We have a car and would like to do these visits\tours by ourselves rather than joining a tour group.

Any help would be super helpful!!

Posted by
1388 posts

Pretty much the only guided tour we've ever been on of our own free will was with a guide from Tours by Locals https://www.toursbylocals.com/ when we were staying in Parma and didn't have a car. He was very good and unobtrusive, and took us to a cheese factory, a balsamic vinegar place, and a winery, then to a nice osteria for lunch. After lunch, since I'm a retired teacher, he kindly took us to the Reggio Emilia school in, yes, Reggio Emilia, even though that wasn't part of the original plan. He would have taken us to a dried meat producer, but I thought I would not enjoy that. Kind of a squeamish semi-vegetarian.

We were there in December and stayed for several nights in Portico di Romagna in the hills --- if you can't stay there at least visit the town (preferably not on a weekend) to see the hundreds of creche scenes that the townspeople and local groups display all over the town. You will not have seen any like them before --- wildly creative, often funny, and constructed from all sorts of unlikely materials (such as old electronics parts and broken flower pots).

We also enjoyed touring the caste of Torrechiara near Parma.

Posted by
656 posts