Please sign in to post.

Northern Italy itinerary advice

Hello Forum Folks,

This is my first time posting here, nice to make your acquaintances!

My husband and I (33-years old) have just begun planning a summer trip to northern Italy and while we have only just begun I find myself in need of a bit of advice from knowledgable travelers of the area. Here’s what we’ve got so far:

• July 4: land in Milan, heading straight for Varenna in Lake Como
  • July 6: leave Varenna, going east to the Dolomites
  • July 8: go south to stay in a villa somewhere about Tuscany (not sure exactly where yet; probably no further south than Florence)
  • July 13: head north, back to Milan
  • July 15: fly home

While in Tuscany, we will visit the surrounding towns–especially Florence. I’m worried this might be a bit much (is it?), but we also don’t want to pass up the opportunity to see the Dolomites which is the leg of this itinerary that I am considering doing away with.

Also, we plan to rent a car for the parts of the trip and ride the train for others. For example, we will be taking the train from Milan to Varenna while driving from Varenna to Dolomites (should we go) to Tuscany as I’ve read areas such a as these are better driven.

At any rate, here are a few questions I have:

• Is this the best route for traveling to these parts of Italy?
  • Is there a particular Tuscan town or city which is advantageous to stay in, considering we’d like to take day trips to nearby towns?
  • Is it recommended to use a car from Varenna to Dolomite, Dolomites to Tuscany? Should we take the train back from Tuscany (or Florence), going back to Milan?
  • Does anyone have a villa recommendation the Tuscany area (not too much further south than Florence)?

We are also aware we will be visiting during a very busy season and special advice for summer and any other recommendations is welcomed.

Kindly,

V

Posted by
6990 posts

Welcome to the forum! V!