Please sign in to post.

Multi day bus tours that begin/end in Rome, Oct 2020

Helping my mom plan a solo bus tour prior to a Trans Atlantic cruise leaving from Rome. We found some interesting ones on Globerouter (specifically a 9 day best of Italy, France, Switzerland). Itinerary and price seem great, but wanted to know if anyone has any experience with Globerouter? Or does anyone have another suggestion for a similar tour from another company? She is a well traveled, very fit late 70's who will be traveling solo.
Thank you!

Posted by
6015 posts

Have you looked at RS tours?
https://www.ricksteves.com/tours
Some begin in Rome, some end in Rome- but either way- you can always get to Rome for cruise departure if you add a night at end.

I've never done any kind of tour either than DIY but have never heard a bad review of RS tours.

Posted by
665 posts

I have no personal experience, but a quick look at online reviews would raise red flags for me. Although it may not market itself as such, Globerouter appears to be a company that serves predominantly Chinese-speaking tourists. Non-Chinese speaking tourists have complained about having difficulty understanding the guide and the majority of the amenities (movies on the bus dubbed in Chinese; stops primarily at Chinese restaurant buffets) designed for Chinese tourists.

In addition to Rick Steves' tours, Odyssey and Road Scholar tours have generally good reviews. One of the three companies might offer something of interest to your mom. She also might want to consider a tour like the RS 7-day Rome tour prior to her cruise. Since I'm assuming she's only have a brief opportunity to explore any of the locations on the cruise, it might be nice to have the luxury to really dig deep into one city at the beginning of her trip.

Good luck with your decision.

Posted by
13905 posts

Oh no....please don't do this!