Please sign in to post.

Mountain Biking in the Dolomites

Hi All--

Planning a trip to Italy and will be in the Dolomites for 4 days. Staying in Ortisei. Would like to do some mountain biking while we are there. I am a beginner and my boyfriend is intermediate, we are wondering if it would be best to do a mountain biking tour from a local group in the area or if it would be better to just rent bikes and try and explore by ourselves? Do you have any recommendations for tours, rental places, or trails in the area?

Thank you!

Posted by
8176 posts

You would do better to Google for mountain bike tours for specific towns. Or look in specialized magazines at the big book stores. The mountains are enormous, and you don't want to get in over your heads. They're steeper than most in the U.S.
In winter, skiers will take ski lifts up to the top of the mountains and ski down to a town. Then they'll drink a beer and take a different ski lift to the top of the mountain and ski down to a different town. You can do this all day. Maybe the same trails could be reached by ski lifts--some of which operate all year.
Worse come to worse, rent a car and just enjoy the incredible scenery. Northern Italy and Tirol in Austria are simply breathtaking.

Posted by
20261 posts

The Alpe di Siusi is a huge very open meadow area with nothing too steep, lots of trails, and accessible by cable car from Ortisei.

Posted by
244 posts