Please sign in to post.

March 2025 Italy Itinerary Feedback?

I’m planning an Italy vacation with my husband and 2 children in late March 2025 - the kids will be 9 and 12 at that time. I’d greatly value advice on apportioning my trip from those who have been there recently. Please no criticism of the length of time we have: we will arrive in Venice Monday morning flying direct from New York City to Marco Polo. We depart the next Sunday early afternoon also from Venice. So, a mere 6 nights! It’s the only time we have, and I thought better 6 nights in March than 8-10 in July or August when we could have more time (crowds, heat).

I’m thinking 2 nights in Venice, followed by 3 nights in Florence, and then back to Venice for 1 night before we depart. So total 3 nights in each city.

It will be my kids’ first visit to Italy and 2nd transatlantic trip (London a couple years ago). I studied in Florence, and then Bologna for a little over a year in the ‘90s, lived and worked in Rome a bit in the early 2000s, and used to travel to Italy often over those years. But it’s been 20 years, and I know the tourist’s experience has changed.

I feel very good about Venice — I have a good sense of how to find quiet and magic there. It’s Florence that has me a bit nervous given all I’ve read of the intense crowds even in what used to be the shoulder season. We wouldn’t be doing day trips - I don’t think we’ll be there long enough to handle that much coming and going - I’d want to spend our days in Florence, a spot very near and dear to my heart from my experiences in the ‘90s. There seem to be plenty of activities for families — cooking classes, tours of museums geared toward kids — and of course I could see the kids loving some of the same things I loved way back when, like the walk between the layers of Brunelleschi’s Duomo, exploring the Oltrarno and maybe Piazzale Michelangelo or Fort Belvedere.