Please sign in to post.

Mailing package to the U.S.

I am studying abroad in Florence Italy and I need to mail some clothing and a big mug I bought In Germany home to the United States so I don't go over the weight limit for my checked baggage on the way back. I have heard the majority of the people at the post office in Florence do not speak English and I do not speak Italian so I want to be prepared when I go there. The items I want to send home are just summer clothes I bought in the United States, the mug, and a couple scarves purchased in Florence.

Can anyone tell me how to declare these items and what forms I need in order to mail a package home? Also, would it be better to split it into 2 packages as opposed to 1 big package that has a chance of being relatively heavy?

I've been trying to send this stuff home for a week or so without finding any answers and I just want this stuff on its way back immediately so I don't have to worry about it anymore.

Posted by
401 posts

Honestly, even after all this time in Italy, it is still a mystery at times with the procedure for mailing things to the US. But I would pack everything up (if it's easier with two, send two packages) and say you want to send it Posta Priorità to the United States. Don't get into having to declare anything. However, they may insist that you fill out something called a Fattura Pro Forma (which you are technically required to fill out when mailing anything outside the EU), where you have to list and give the value of what you are sending. Just say clothes and give it a value of 0. Allow time for everything to arrive.
If you are still having problems, isn't there anyone you know in Florence who speaks Italian who could go with you?

Posted by
2091 posts

11/30/09 7:17 AM
Darcy
Lewiston, Idaho USA
Edit | Delete