Please sign in to post.

Italy in December

Hi guys,

I am a recently graduated professional looking to take my fiancé on his first ever international trip. He is only available from December 15th-January 6th due to his work obligations. I am likely going to have to be working Christmas (us new grads have to earn the good holidays off).

So my question is this, is it better to go to Italy in the weeks before Christmas (December 15-December 24th) or the weeks after Christmas (December 26th- January 6th)?

Obviously I'd prefer a longer duration trip, but I am a little concerned that all of the beautiful Christmas festivities might have died down if we arrive after the holiday. I know they also celebrate Epiphany on January 6th, but I don't know what to expect with that holiday.

We are thinking Florence, Rome and maybe some places further south where it will be warmer? I imagine Venice might be brutally cold that time of year.

Thank you for your help and advice!

Posted by
1528 posts

Xmas festivities in Italy begin on the afternoon of Dec. 24th and go to Jan 6th. On Dec. 25th, Dec 26th, the evening of Dec. 31h, Jan. 1st and Jan. 6th almost everything comes to a standstill; Sundays included in the period are pretty dead too. So, first study the calendar and consider if you can fit your visit around these dates.

Venice isn't brutally cold but it's brutally humid and may be subject to high water. Don't expect Florence and Rome to be much hotter but are not as problematic. Also, in all cities you have the option of taking a taxi if you get tired but not in Venice - a consideration in cold and humid climate.

Posted by
1388 posts