Please sign in to post.

Initial Itinerary to Milan, Siena and the Amalfi Coast for September 2025.

Hello Travelers! I am just beginning to plan a 2-week adventure for a group of 4, possibly 5 couples in September 2025. The ages range from mid 50s to mid 70s and while we are all ambulatory, there are varying degrees of fitness and stamina. This is important because the initial itinerary plans are: 5-6 days in Milan and Lake Country, another 5-6 days on the Amalfi Coast (fly to Milan, out of Naples) with a night or two in Siena on the way from Milan to AC. I would love to hear thoughts about AC especially since it has challenges in terrain and transportation. I feel strongly that at my age, I can’t count on ever getting back there, so understandably I want to go despite these challenges, and make the most of our visit.

Initial thoughts on getting from Milan to Siena then on to AC are to rent a large van. One thing I do not want to do is spend a lot of nights in different places because too much time is spent packing and hauling luggage. To my thinking, better to rent a property as a base in Milan and AC, which would hopefully make it easy for different agendas as some of us enjoy a day packed full of activities while others like a more relaxed schedule.

As for the stay on the Amalfi Coast, does it make sense to stay in Ravello and get a local private driver to get us to the towns along the coast we want to visit? From what I can tell, it could be a half hour to an hour if all the planets are in alignment and the travel gods are smiling upon us.

One member of our group has proposed staying in Sorrento, but from comments I have read on the forum is that transportation to and from Sorrento could be problematic, and because it is a post WWII town, it does not have a medieval ambience to the town. I feel the above mentioned stay in Ravello may make more sense.