Please sign in to post.

Honeymoon in Italy

Hello,

My fiancé and I are looking to honeymoon in Italy in October.

Background:
I have been to Germany and Austria. I was a foreign exchange student in Germany for 6 weeks in high school. My fiancé has never been to Europe, and has minimally been out of the US. We love wine (have been to the majority of wineries in New Jersey and completed the state wine passport). We like to be doing things, and don't really like to just sit on the beach. At the same time, we don't want to be rushing around and usually prefer to have one-two activities per day and then just relax/eat/drink wine for the rest of the day. We are interested in seeing the big "must dos" for the sake of the fact that we'll be in the area, so we want to take advantage of it. We're not huge into museums (prefer to be outside), but do enjoy learning.

Looking for help on where to start with planning. We are thinking we will go for about 2 weeks, leaving from PA.

TLDR: We want to see the sights and drink good wine, while relaxing on our honeymoon in Italy. Where to start with planning? Where do you think we should go?

Please feel free to ask any follow up questions, and thanks in advance.

Posted by
3263 posts

I would go to Florence or Siena, and take day trips from there. You have enough time to add a few days in Rome or Venice, but not both, IMHO.

Our motto is "Leave the Drinking to Us" and let others do the driving. For our upcoming trip, we are staying in Siena for 4 nights, and have arranged for 3 private tours with this company:

https://www.tuscanescapes.com/

Several years ago, we stayed in Florence and took the small group Chianti tour with Tuscan Trails. It was wonderful.
https://tuscantrails.com/

Posted by
3122 posts