Please sign in to post.

Flights to Italy Help

Thank you everyone for all your help.
With the great information posted here, I was able to book my first overseas flight and feel confident I knew what I was doing. - Again, Thank you!

I'm trying to book my flights for my Best of Venice, Florence and Rome trip. This is my first time out of the U.S. and Amex Travel is no help.

I don't know what time of day is the best time to be flying. I would appreciate any suggestions, tips and any 'do or don't do' tips. -- I would be flying out of New Orleans.

Thank you!

Correction - I live in New Orleans and haven't booked my flight yet and don't know what city to depart the U.S. from.

Posted by
746 posts

I have no idea what time of day is best for travel. When I book international flights from Denver I look at pricing and where they connect (i.e, JFK, Newark, etc.). Some airports are a lot better than others for connections. You also need to look at connection times because sometimes the airlines will offer unrealistic times. Flying out of New Orleans might not be the best place when searching for international travel; you might need to fly to somewhere like Atlanta first, which will give you a lot of choices with airlines and destinations.

One tip-- plan to arrive at least one day or even two before your tour starts. Contact the first hotel and tell them you are with the RS tour and ask them to book you in the same room.

There are a lot of discussions on this forum about planning international travel. On the Travel Forum home page look for the category titled Tips and Trip Reports.

When are you going on the tour?

Posted by
2540 posts

Do a search on Google flights to see your options. Use multi city not round trip - into Venice and out of Rome. Do not book with a consolidator but with the airline itself.

Posted by
10 posts

Correction - I live in New Orleans and haven't booked my flight yet and don't know what city to depart the U.S. from.

Posted by
264 posts