Please sign in to post.

First visit to Italy in May 2015 - Where to go??

It's my first time to Italy and my husband's first time to Europe! We have 9-10 nights, and we both love amazing scenery and quaint towns. History, not so much :)
We have a few options we were thinking of (for 2 or 3 nights each). Cinque Terre, Venice, Verona, the Alps (either Switzerland/Jungfraujoch area, Dolomites, or Austria).
Any advice or recommendations, based on going in May? I'm a landscape photographer, so love vistas, beautifuly scenery, etc.
I've heard pluses and minuses about Cinque Terre and Venice...... (crowded, dirty(Venice)), so didn't know how much was true.
Also, I wasn't sure how the weather will be in May in Switzerland.
Thanks!!!! We're so excited :)

Posted by
2447 posts

Can't miss Venice! The beautiful vistas are there, plus, you might find yourself becoming an architectural detail photographer... Sure, there are crowded areas, but they are easy to escape. I was there in June, and the canals smelled just fine. As a photographer, you'd be sure to enjoy the absence of cars.

Posted by
667 posts

Though I have not been myself, if you like scenery, I bet you could spend 9-10 days around Venice, Verona, and the Dolomites, maybe even a lake or 2......

Posted by
4802 posts

Theresa, Venice may have some crowded areas during the day, but what tourist spot doesn't? It is easy peasy to escape the crowds -- just walk a few blocks of the beaten paths. It isn't dirty nor smelly. If it were we wouldn't continue to return. Truly a great city not to be missed. The CT suffers from the same bad rap as Venice. It is a super place. Just don't try to cram too much into short time. Europe needs to be savored, not gulped. TC

Posted by
882 posts