Please sign in to post.

First Time Traveler

Its my first time ever traveling and I really went big by planning a 10 day trip to Italy. Ive posted and gotten so much good advice on here and have adjusted my itinerary until I think I finally got it right. But I am so anxious that i might be missing something or not preparing for something, and then when the trip comes if i encounter problems i would have regret. What else can i do to make sure my trip goes smooth?!?! How do i stop thinking about this trip until it finally happens!!

Posted by
22 posts

My First Time was very like your’s. I really worked hard at all the details. But I realized how lucky I was to make the trip at all, and the absolute wonder I felt in seeing Lyon,Arles, Paris, Rouen and the Loire made up for the several snafus that happened.

I hope for you that this first time is so much fun you realize you need to start planning your second one soon!

Posted by
15532 posts

The reality of travel is that there may be things that could go "wrong." Most of these are out of your control so there really is no need to worry about it. Worry will not make it better.

Concentrate on all the fun you're going to have and the great adventures.

Then, if something should not go as planned, don't panic. You have researched plenty and will find a way around it.

As for missing something, have you planned every second of the day or have you left some time should something come up you'd like to experience?

Posted by
874 posts

I think the best general advice on the site is here: https://www.ricksteves.com/travel-tips/trip-planning/making-the-most-of-your-trip

• Expect problems and tackle them creatively
  • Head off screwups before they happen
  • Don't be a creative worrier

Be realistic about how much you can do, assume you'll come back and most importantly "Be fanatically positive and militantly optimistic." to quote Rick.